Posted on

Shooting Vespa Backdrops:

flowers do the job just fine.

This backdrop setting was one that I happened to pass everyday out on rides back in Israel between Rehovot and day trips throughout the countryside. I decided one day that this little fuchsia dream must be used as a framework for some photos with the vespa, and I am happy I decided it must be so as the photos all turned out great! I miss these rides and long for them every time I see a rider out on the roads. 

“If I were a flower.. I would be a sunflower. To always follow the sun, turn my back to darkness, stand proud, tall and straight even with my head full of seeds.”  -Pam Stewart.

 Sunflowers are one of my favorite flowers because they emit such bold feelings of happiness and joy. When you see them, you cannot help but smile and cheer up! They are also calming for me, while at the same time elicit great joy and energy from their admirers and myself. They are also such enigmas in certain contexts and can even seem a bit foreboding sometimes. My favorite context, or visual and use of these flowers in the movie, was how they were presented in Everything is illuminated. I adore this movie and, even more so, the book.

Although I had to kind of manures the ‘pa to get this shot and the others I took that day, it was work the sweat and slight discomfort in the dirt field. I enjoyed this little, unexpected stop very much on my ride that day. (Note: Always drink plenty of water in this type of weather and fierce sunshine: I had to rest in the shade after this little photo shoot, as the heat was too much for little ‘ol me. Sunscreen, a must. Sun hat, a good idea.)

“Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadow. It’s what sunflowers do.”  -Helen Keller.

*

And a fun photo, with little set up or talent involved from this weekend, 

This is just a fun, little photo I took this weekend while I was at my mother’s house in West Texas. The little, well “LONG-body”, black dog is my Bella Bird. She is a mess, but so much fun and has my whole heart! I missed her very much while over in Israel and couldn’t wait to see her upon my return. Someday I plan to bring her back with me- when I can make sure she will be safe and sound on the flight home.

 I am currently getting together all of my older camping gear for some upcoming camping plans around the Grand Canyon and California area in September. This is when my Israeli partner comes to visit the states for the very first time and I want to show him the best of the best! (We can only see parts of the West Coast this trip, as we only have about a month on this trek.) I am very excited about this trip and have been very busy planning our details out today. I want to show him “the best” of my country and as much of it as we can see in the short month that we have to travel around. I hope I pick the right places.

 ** * If you are in the L.A., Vegas, Grand Canyon, or New Orleans area and would like to try to meet up, please let me know! I’d love to meet some of you great people!! Or if you have any recommendations for these areas, that would be rather lovely also. (We are visiting the following states: New Mexico, Utah, Arizona, California -mostly the area around the Pacific Coast Highway, maybe Colorado, Louisiana, Tennessee -Memphis mostly, Elvis fans!, and Northern Texas areas.) Any trip tips/ideas or friends that wanted to meet up, we would be delightful to plan something on this adventure throughout the country! Also: I know that my partner will miss speaking Hebrew, so if anyone wants to chat over some coffee in Hebrew with us, that would also be great!

Just let me know if you have any ideas or suggestions, as we have time before these travels begin in the start of September. You can leave a comment below or shoot me over an email, Izevel1923@gmail.com* **

Otherwise, I hope all of you wonderful folks are having a great summer and enjoying the good life-

wherever you are! 

Cheers and happy riding.

P.S. If you still haven’t “liked” RoxyVespa over on the facebook, please do so: RoxyVespa FB Page. Thanks y’all.

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

