Posted on

Now that summer’s here and people are flocking to the various beaches in the country, it seems like Bat-Yam offers you a little peace and tranquility. With its under-developed beach landscapes, they have left a little of the original nature and charm for you to enjoy during your visit. There is a different air that I felt while visiting the Bat-Yam promenade and I really enjoyed that breath of fresh air. The waters are so clear and have lovely blue hues that you can view, perfectly, for miles either way from above the beach, on street level.  Rishon Le-Zion is still one of my favorite beaches in Israel, but I really did like how cozy I felt while walking around the Bat-Yam promenade. Here is further information about this lovely city, 

From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bat_Yam,

“In the years following Israel’s creation, Bat Yam grew dramatically due to mass immigration and gained city status in 1958. A small Hasidic enclave of Bobover Hasidim, known as Kiryat Bobov, was established in 1959. The city gained a sizeable community of Jews from Turkey (est. 23% of the population). Bat Yam again experienced a period of rapid growth in the early 1980s to the late 1990s with the mass immigration of Jews from the formerSoviet Union, and Ethiopia. There is also a fairly large Arab community in Bat Yam, both Muslim and Christian many of whom relocated from Jaffa. The vast majority of Vietnamese-Israelis or Vietnamese people of Israeli origin, live in Bat Yam.

*

*

In 2008 the Bat-Yam International Biennale of Landscape Urbanism, which is devoted to re-examining urban spaces through art and architecture, was held in Bat Yam. In 2010 the second Biennale, “Timing” took place,which featured site-specific installations from designers and architects from around the world. The city has two shopping malls, Kanyon Bat Yam, which opened in 1993, and Kanyon Bat Yamon.

The location of Bat Yam on the Mediterranean makes it popular with beach-goers. Bat Yam has a 3.2 kilometers long promenade along the ocean lined with pubs and restaurants. The city has six beaches, one of which is protected by a breakwater. The Museum of Bat Yam exhibits contemporary art. Other museums include the Ben Ari Museum and Ryback Museum that houses the work of Issachar Ber Ryback. There is also a museum in the memory of the Yiddish writer Sholem Asch, who lived his last years in Bat Yam, and a small Holocaust museum.”

The Bat-Yam Official site says it has 9 beaches, but who’s counting? 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From http://www.israeltraveler.org

“The Bat Yam Promenade has an additional importance: beyond the fact that it touches on the city’s coastline, once in two years the Urban Landscape Architecture Biennale takes place on it and its surroundings, and once a year a Street Theater Festival, one of the largest and most fascinating of its kind in Israel. But there is no need to wait that long in order to enjoy the Bat Yam Promenade. Along almost three kilometers you will find beautiful access paths to the beach, many benches and gardens with flowers and trees, marked footpaths, children’s playgrounds (the central one includes an installation with numerous slides). Playing areas, various cultural and musical events that take place here every once in a while, and of course cafés and restaurants. At the Bat Yam Promenade it is beautiful at any time of the day, and especially in the evening. The Bat Yam Promenade is a part of Derech Ben Gurion Street.”

From http://www.telavivhotels.org.il/eng/Discover_Bat-Yam.php,

Bat-Yam is a few kilometers south of Tel-Aviv and because of its central location, it is the ideal starting point for a complete tour of Israel: Jerusalem in the east, the Negev Desert and the Dead Sea in the south, Haifa, the Galilee and the Golan Heights in the north.

  • only 10 minutes away from Tel Aviv
  • 3.5 kms of splendid beaches, one protected by breakwaters, all perfectly well maintained and serviced: lifeguards, sunshades, deckchairs, changerooms, children playground, newly designed cafes-restaurants straight on the shore, opened from morning till night. One beach offers separate bathing
  • variety of water sports such as sailing, windsurfing, hang-gliding, para-gliding
  • Opposite the “Man Rock” Beach, the open-air Amphitheater, hosts on summer evenings, outdoor dances and performances by renowned artists.”
It all depends on what kind of a beach person you are or what you are in the mood for. Tel Aviv beaches are all situated close to main roads and I like to feel like I’ve escaped a bit when I go to the beach. Thus, I’ve never really taken to the beaches there. I was really surprised with the set up of everything when I walked around Bat-Yam’s beach area. The mood was slower and everyone around me seemed to be really enjoying that slowness and taking advantage of it.
 *
*
There are plenty of ways to enjoy yourself, as they have something for just about everyone. There are tons of various seating benches and tables, for those who want to sit or play games. There are many unique architectural structures and statures to view. They have so many amazing park with playground equipment that even I wanted to try it out. (One of the playground slides was, I swear, 3 stories high!) All of this right at the edge of street level, so you have the view stretching out below you.
 *
There seems to be endless things, on the beach itself, to entertain you once you are tired of swimming, but for those seeking adventures in the water, they have tons for you do try also. I may try to learn how to kite surf. That looks like a great time! There are many cafes, both on the beach and around the streets above. If you need something that you’ve forgot, you’ll also find some tourist stores that can fix you right up.
*
All-in-all, I am pretty pleased with what I found there today. The photos I took, really with little effort at all, all turned out amazingly lovely. A big shout out to Edith Levy, I kept my promise!

A few articles with further Bat Yam information: 

What are your favorite beaches and why are they your favorite? Traveled and found an amazing beach? Do share! 

10 responses to “Vespa Adventures: Serene Bat-Yam Beaches(10 Minutes South of Tel Aviv)

  1. Boy did you ever keep your promise. Great post. I learned more about Bat Yam then I ever knew. Thanks for taking me back and letting me relive some of my summers when I was a child. I spent many summers there in the 70’s & 80’s visiting my grandparents and back then there was no promenade (not like today) but the beach and water was always pristine and lively with locals sunbathing and playing matcot (I think that’s how you spell it). I was there 2 summers ago and was astounded at the changes and how beautiful it was. I’m so glad you went for a visit and enjoyed it. The pictures are gorgeous.

    • Yay!! = ) I hoped that you’d like it! It was more beautiful than I thought it would be and so glad that you told me about it. (Otherwise, I would have never come to find it and always scoot by…so thanks!)

  2. lostdododesigns ⋅

    Beautiful photos!

    • Toda, love! Let me know about that vespa seat and if you think it is possible! It looks really hard to do, so might just need to go somewhere that does it specifically.

      • lostdododesigns ⋅

        Hey Sweetie! Sorry it took me a few days to get back to you. I was trying to figure out if I could make the seat cover for your vespa. I spoke with a friend of mine who is a sewing genius. After talking with her I would have to say I think at this time a seat cover is out of my skill level. I’m really sorry I can’t do it for you. Hopefully my skills will evolve with time and I’ll be able to do it in the near future. Thanks for thinking of me:)

        • Thanks for trying!! I don’t think I could ever do one myself… so I figured that it was something a special custom shop would have to do. Thanks for letting me know. = )

  3. Great photos. I love the area south of Tel-Aviv. I have family and friends in Rishon LeTzion, and I’ve spent plenty of time there. I particularly have fond memories of visiting the beaches there, and catching the last bus out before Shabbat.

    • Why thank you, sir. Your family chose good digs! Good taste. They (Israelis) really do know how to embrace life here and you can see a great side of the Israeli spirit out on the beach. If you have any tips for places that you know of that would be great for a “vespa adventure”, please let me know. I would love to try and find it!

  4. mshepherd81 ⋅

    Serious urge to take my Vespa every where earthly possible

    • You have no idea how many people actually do that! I have seen blogs and photos of people with their beloved vespas just about everywhere!! We are a crazy bunch and I love it!! = ) Thanks for stopping by the ‘ol blog!

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

