Posted on

Vespa Maintenance can be costly, y’all.

The above photo was running in the ad that I found back in late November of 2011 that brought this lovely machine into my life.  What I wrote back then about my concerns with the hassles of owning a vespa in Israel made me smile when I read it today:

“..trying to figure out if the vespa’s cuteness is equal to or more than the headache of being able to work out all the details of owning it. but it is so cute!!!”

It most certainly has been worth the hassel, even though sometimes I might not agree 100% when those events are happening in real-time.

Today was my first real service check-up and luckily I have found a decent service shop in Tel Aviv to take it to. I did go before, but nothing was needed then and they sent me on my way, with orders to return around the 10,000kms. This time I knew that I couldn’t leave without fixing something, as Roxy had lost a lot of  her spunk and wasn’t performing as well as I knew she could. 

Thus another pop up to Tel Aviv today to drop her off for a few hours for a rather expensive check-up, though much-needed. It may onlyhave had just under 9,000 kms on it, but I have noticed (for about a month now) that she has acted really different from the when I first bought her and that the performance level hasn’t been the best (and rapidly declining out on every new ride). Vespa Adventures would have to be put on hold.

I specifically knew that the performance was off when I took a drive on one of my favorite rides Israel Road Trip 395 this past week and was going up the steep inclines and turns at only 40kms top speed . This road isn’t easy for any vehicle because of the steep turns and climbs/incline, but I know that my 125 CC vespa can handle it just fine- when things were working properly. When I couldn’t get above 40kms, I decided to turn around half-way through the drive because I knew that testing her any further wasn’t a smart idea.

Trust Yourself: Never doubt yourself when you believe something is off about your vespa/scooter/car/ECT. Only you know your vehicle and know how it runs and works when everything is properly fixed. You know what to expect from it and know when something isn’t “beseder”/okay. Even if you don’t have many skills nor experience with the inner workings of your/any vehicles, that doesn’t change the fact that you drive it day in and day out: You know when something is wrong. So embrace that knowledge and be confident in “your feeling” that something isn’t kosher with your vespa. Don’t wait around for further conformation, as whatever might be wrong could really mess up your engine if you push it and know something is ‘amiss. This part is especially for the ladies, as we don’t get enough credit for our skills and driving experience. (And even more so, “our feelings” regarding the inner workings of machines and all that crap. As Nike says, “Just do it” or something. Trust yourself. )

Spotted: Custom Vespa Seat Design in Tel Aviv! Awesome.

The next day, after the failed trip on Road 395, I tried to figure out myself what the issue was and decided to clean the air filter (-with the help from Happy Parrot’s Vespa Adventures and Maintenance videos). That took some time and effort, as I have never done it before, but it felt really rewarding once I was finally done and have all the pieces back in their place. (Well, expect one screw.) I decided to test the ‘pa out on the same difficult drive, to know if anything had changed. Well, yes there was a tiny result from the cleaning of the air filter: it was up to 60kms on the same hills that, yesterday,  only hit 40kms per hour. Results are results, but I know that she can easily handle those inclines at 80kms plus, if I were brave enough to drive that fast at that road. Thus I only did part of the drive before turning around yet again and decided that I needed to prepare myself for a substantial loss of money (for maintenance costs).

 

It was good timing too that on that same little ride, my right turning signal decided to stop working. Another thing to add-on the list for repairs when I brought it to the shop and I was glad to have it break just before taking it in as opposed to right after. Yay. About the 10,000 number: I have noticed there are different service models that people follow and suggest are the best ways to guide you along in your service planning, but since the place I know and trust said around the 10,000 mark that is what I follow. Although, as I wrote above, I brought it in earlier because I knew something wasn’t okay and didn’t want to push it and harm the engine.

* *Use any Maintenance Schedule you choose to use or the one that is followed by your repair shop (that you know/trust). The important thing here is to at least have some idea what is happening under “the hood” of your vehicle, so if you don’t have an honest service shop they won’t try to swindle you out of your hard earned money. It is always smart to try and learn more about your vespa and the maintenance it will require. That is part of owning one, whether you embrace that aspect or not. (Service is a big part of the reason why ownership can result in little savings over the years of driving a vespa versus another type of transportation. Something to take into consideration and also something I shall write more about later on.)

So, more about the total cost and how Roxy preformed on the ride home from Tel Aviv tomorrow or whenever I can get part two out. I have to go back again actually, as the repair shop had to order the parts for the turn signal so it might be a few days before I can get to writing/posting part two. Oh, and there is a concert in Tel Aviv tomorrow that I am super excited about: Avicii. Super high-five to seeing him tomorrow night! Check him out over at youtube, if you like dance music and DJs, as he is quality. 

I am really happy that this whole process went fairly well and was pretty simple to complete. I hung out in Tel Aviv for the afternoon, after I dropped it off around 11 AM or so. It was ready around 4 PM. The guys, and shop, that I took it to were really nice and I’ll write more about them also in part two. (In case any of you are looking for good places to take your vespa in Tel Aviv. Maybe a few of you, no?! I still am looking for male models too, if you happen to be one of those. Wink.)

All’s well that ends well! See y’all on the flip side. 

One response to “Vespa Maintenance: 10,000kms Service for a Sick and Spunkless Vespa, Part 1

  1. If any of you really ADORE Avicii, here an excellent mix of his tracks: http://youtu.be/c5oDueaI_88 ❤ ❤

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

