Posted on

Oh, the locals. Always a pleasure. Or at least, an experience. 

Israel is such an interesting place to live and just when you think you’ve moved beyond the culture shock and finally understand the local customs, you realize just how much you’ve left to learn. Read further down for further “Israeliness”. Plus, check out a personal little blurb from me down at the bottom. Soak it all in and then have a lovely weekend indeed, y’all. 

I wanted to share this with you, as a part of “Beyond the Scoot”, because I found this while searching through the Israel posts here on WordPress and was really impressed by this video. 

The music is so beautiful and the footage of the musicians playing only adds to its beauty. It is from kutiman, over on youtube, who has some other great videos uploaded.

Also, if you are interested in blogs about “being Israeli”, you really should check out one of the best blogs I have ever come across: HowtobeIsraeli.blogspot.com. I cannot recommend this blog enough to those expats here who need a little help with the culture (and a good laugh too). I have be able to cope with some of the more harsh moments of my transition between cultures much easier with the often hilarious words from Maya.

There was also a good post about “Israeliness”, found here, that list 64 things the blogger loves about Israel (-as this past Independence Day was the 64th ‘birthday’ for the country). It is a great and humorous insight into the life of someone who has made Aliyah and how he has adjusted to the changes in culture throughout his past five years here in Israel.  Here are a few of my favorite from his list,

  • “I love that the Asian sushi chef gave me the rega hand gesture. How do you say “kibbutz galuyot in Japanese?
  • “I love the “mmm-bye” farewell greeting used by certain Israelis when hanging up the phone. It’s a cross between ‘l’hitraot’ and a Hanson song.”
  • “I love that instead of worrying about kids developing peanut allergies, parents feed their babies Bamba before the doctor has even finished cutting the umbilical cord.”
  • “I love that the Red Hot Chili Peppers are finally making their long-awaited appearance here. I hope they open with ‘Californicatzia.'”

If anyone has a blog to suggest or an article (or just really anything) that centers around being an expat, or those who made Aliyah, who is adjusting to the culture and dealing with culture shock here in Israel, please share it in the comments below. I really love reading how other’s interprete all of these little cultural happenings and love reading about the confusion created therein. Oh, and the humor from this type of writing makes it worth reading too.

What are Sabras? Sabras is the Hebrew word for the prickly pear fruit. But more interesting to note, sabras is slang for native Israeli Jews. What do native Israelis and prickly pear fruit have in common? Both are tough and thorny on the outside, and soft and sweet on the inside.

A few Haaretz articles about certain aspects of “Israeliness” and then other blogs that you might like to click out, 

Always, with peace and with love.
A Personal Note from RoxyVespa: Now that I wrote another rather Israel centric piece (again) and I wanted to write this little blurb to explain myself a bit: I wasn’t aware when I started this blog that I would be posting about the Sirens of the Israel Holocaust Day or that I would want to repost another’s story about their take on Israel Independence Day- which was amazing. I really hope that my few Israel-centric posts every now and then doesn’t push away those who have followed this little ‘ol blog. Oy, I don’t really even know how to address this other than say that my location affects me and apparently this blog. I hope that you won’t mind a few posts that do focus more on Israel and the politics of this place, but I intend to keep those post mostly few and far between. (Other than the posts over the weekend under “Beyond the Scoot”, which is just random stuff that interests me and I want to make note of here.) I’ve noticed that I have lost a few subscribers the last few days and that was a bit hard to take, but I guess all I can say is that politics bleed over into everything here. Even Vespa blogs that were created with the intention to stay away from said topics. I shall resume my vespa talk on Sunday and try to make next week a very vespa-centric place full of vespa-type things. Thanks for those who have stuck around and don’t mind my rambles. I promise to always keep a steady supply of pretty photos, so that is a good plus. Ha. Thanks again youshes (you guys).

And that is it for this edition of, ‘Beyond the Scoot’. Hope your weekend is lovely. Cheers everyone!

7 responses to “Beyond the Scoot: Israeliness.

  1. Its good to blend personal stuff to the strict regimen of content that you originally began your blog for. By the way, since you posted a picture of a Krembo, do you know what Krembo was called in the 1940s (the name being borrowed from a European source)?

  2. I’m loving these posts: having been in, and having lived, in Israel, it never ceases to amaze me how all of the “Middle East experts” and all of the self-appointed experts on Israel are pretty much 99.99% wrong about 99.99% of the time they open their mouths and minds in the media. Anybody who’s even experienced the real Israel (I say this as somebody who’s lived in places like Lod, Afula, and Beit She’an, and has dealt with Israeli bureaucracy) knows that Israel is a great place with great people and so much greatness to offer, and has nothing to explain, justify, or apologize about. And if they’re still not convinced, then let them sample some of the world-class wine, food, and beer that Israel produces…

  3. To be honest I love these posts.

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

