Posted on

Treasure Found: Piaggio PX 200E

A sunny day’s walk  leads to unexpected treasure,

We were out on a walk through our neighborhood when unexpectedly my partner points out a blue machine over in the shade. I would have never noticed it on my own, as it was pretty well hidden by overgrown weeds (-one that is related to poison ivy, so I was careful with getting close to it). The extra neat factor of this old Piaggio was that it had a cozy sidecar attached! Those are quiet rare, I’ve found, and was excited to come across this so unexpectadly. The colour was still, even in this state, brilliant and I knew that if someone had the skills and knowledge to restore it, it would be a prized procession and a real eye-catcher on these Israeli Streets. 

While I was there taking photos, one of the neighbors of the owners came out and started talking to me about it. I decided to give her my number, so that if the owner was interested in selling, they could contact me at their convenience. I decided that it would be well over my head to invest in something like this and most likely just end up sitting in the shade as it already was, just under my name. So I contacted the Israeli Vespa Club, since I’ve noticed they restore old models and make them ever so pretty again, to see if they were interested in speaking with the owner. They were and I matched the two up, but haven’t heard if anything happened beyond this point, but I hope that a deal was reached. (Maybe I’ll see her one day at a meeting, in all her restored glory!)

It was still a very magical run-in that day to stumble upon this rare beauty and give it some much-needed appreciated and attention, for a few minutes at least.

(Click images to enlarge.)

And these two beauties below are examples of what can happen when you have the talent to restore old classics: 

Sometimes, and more often than not, old is better than new. 

P.S. I kind of like not knowing if it was sold or not, as the mystery is much better than the reality of going back over there and finding it still sitting there. Plus, I might be tempted to buy it myself if it is still there, thus I haven’t been back to check it out.

About kaie w. bird

A freelance photographer in Israel that likes to scoot about while documenting just about everything. P.S. I am a horrible editor. Forgive me.

One response to “Treasure Found: Piaggio PX 200E

  1. Reminds me of a photo I took last month in Zichron Ya’akov while walking up to the Pavo Brewery. There was an old red Egged and an old green Dan bus just hanging out peacufully retired in the weeds alongside the gravel path leading to the brewery.

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

