Posted on

Vespa Adventures: The Ride Home, Via Poppies!

Ready for an Adventure?

On Saturday after spending the morning the Kadma Flower Field/Garden, we were driving back towards Jerusalem when I spotted a mass of red all of the sudden ahead of us. The colour popped so much from the otherwise green surrounding that it was hard to look away. As we drove closer to the field, I realized that it was in fact a dense patch of poppies that has overtaken a bit of this particular farmer’s crop and was providing those driving along the road with a very special treat. I knew that it wouldn’t be easy to get a good shot in the car and that trying to find a way in with the car was beyond pointless. (And I couldn’t ask my partner to do that after spending the morning already in a field of flowers.)

That is when I decided, to myself, that I would return on my way back from the kibbutz and do my best to get in. (It is, for all I know, private farm property but with all of the ATVs running around those lands, I believe any dirt road path is up for grabs to drive.) I know that I seem to get off on many flower tangents on this blog, but for me it is a very good way to slow down for a moment and really appreciate the life and beauty around me.

The cars on the highway get a treat while driving today!

The beauty of these fields cannot be described and it is very hard to capture the essence on film, or through photography, because there is something very intricate to the experience of these fields of flowers: the way the wind wraps around the petals and they dance about the blue backdrops, the sway and rhyme of the individual buds and how they flow into one another and become a sea of red. You need to spend time to understand the rhyme if you want to capture it and that means sitting still for a moment and just being there. That is what I like about these particular fields of flowers (Anemone and Poppies, plus various other types), is that patience is rewarded and without it you’ll miss the experience you crave from a landscape like this.

I ended up walking a bit of the ways to the patch of poppies, since the dirt road was a bit too extreme for my little ‘pa (and getting stuck out here would not be any fun at all). So I parked it on the side (-just so, so that I would be able to view it from below and watch over it, if needed-) and headed down the path. As I walked the cars whizzed by me over on the freeway next to the field and I thought how lucky I was to be here instead of viewing them from a car. As I walked up to the sea of red, I was taken aback: somehow, the beauty continually surprises me as much as the first time I viewed fields like these. In the otherwise sea of green, a sea of red had taken over. I would have stayed there for much longer, but I’m very pale and the sun yesterday was extremely harsh- even with tons of high SPF sunscreen and my gear on. (I will post photos in the coming days, in which will display the whiteness/paleness that is, Me.) I ended up leaving about an hour later, of course after getting tons of shots and a bit of film. I went ahead and put together another short clip from the footage to try and give you an understanding of the simple beauty that graces these fields, so I hope you enjoy it. I hope you all like flowers, ’cause this week’s post will be full of them!

The music featured in the clip is in Hebrew and is one of my favorite songs in the language called,  אל תשאלי אם אני/ Al Tishali Eem Ani Ohev from David Broza and Nimrod Lev.  The song is stunning and fits the mood I wanted to portray here very well. It is also one of the first songs I came across in Hebrew and I have a certain fondness for it. (If you want the lyrics for the song in Hebrew, click here. The song is called, “Don’t Ask Me if I love” in English. I couldn’t seem to find it translated to English, but Google translate is a handy friend in cases like these!)

I know a bit of that up there is a bit sappy, but it also describes for you how much freedom you can have with a vespa: if you have the will, then you have a way. (Of course, this applies to walking, biking, motorcycles, maybe roller blades too… but this is a vespa blog.) The whole point of riding is that you are no longer taken out of nature and thereby the very context you seek.  Being boxed up in some car, that requires more details than not, for random and interesting things you happen to cross upon your journey limits you and your ability to pursue those unexpected happenings. You get to turn around, easily, and seek out the things that interested you. You aren’t just on the highways now, and because of this you get to slow down and allow more time to find things the highways choose to disconnect you from. You get to stop and take moments in and really be present. Instead of just going from parking lot to parking lot, you tread on and create your own parking lot(s) wherever your courage takes you. Of course, you do it safely, but the payoff is the same:

priceless. 

I hope you enjoy the little film and have a lovely start to this week. Cheers!

About kaie w. bird

A freelance photographer in Israel that likes to scoot about while documenting just about everything. P.S. I am a horrible editor. Forgive me.

4 responses to “Vespa Adventures: The Ride Home, Via Poppies!

  1. ShimonZ

    I loved this post… all of it. The flowers are so beautiful, your pictures too… very beautiful. I’m so happy for you that you’re able to appreciate these wonderful days.

  2. Thanks for finally talking about >Vespa Adventures: The Ride Home, Via Poppies!
    | roxyvespa <Liked it!

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

