Posted on

Bloggin’ Vespa,

I came across some great articles and blogs focusing on the riding and care of your Vespa. Here are some great sites below to check out,

http://www.forbes.com/sites/hannahelliott/2011/09/16/how-to-ride-a-vespa-safely-in-new-york-city/ .

From Forbes.com. The author covers a great range of important points and it is worth your time to read. Huge plus: the author is lady! No wonder she covered all the essentials. =  )

Vespa vs Smart Car?

To buy or not to buy- that is the question.

More Links about the 2008 Vespa LX 150,

2008 Vespa LX 150 Specifications,

The Reviews,

 

The Ride
This is the real reason I bought this thing. What began as pure fun has transformed into a minor miracle of personal peace. Regardless of riding conditions, no matter how hot or cold a smile always comes to my face when I ride. I find the attention required to ride safely strips away the concerns of the day—things melt from my consciousness and I am left living in the moment. The ride is a contemplation of machine, body, and mind. I find a serene place.

Riding also provides an opportunity to pursue mastery. Not the simple definition of getting good at something but rather the definition of mastery outlined in George Leonard’s book “Mastery”. Leonard describes mastery

“It resists definition yet can be instantly recognized. It comes in many varieties, yet follows certain unchanging laws. It brings rich rewards, yet is not really a goal or a destination but rather a process, a journey. We call this journey mastery, and tend to assume that it requires a special ticket available only to those born with exceptional abilities. But mastery isn’t reserved for the super talented or even for those who are fortunate enough to have gotten an early start. It’s available to anyone who is willing to get on the path and stay on it—regardless of age, sex, or previous experience.”

The Vespa offers a chance to pursue this path and it reaches far beyond simple definitions of riding. It is a challenge personally, mentally, physically, and spiritually. I am grateful to have stumbled upon it….”

Very well said, indeed. Check out his blog!

Total Cost of Ownership,

*As you have noticed by now I like to add links in my notes. When I was first looking for information there seemed to be a lack of resources that provided me with good information. One of my biggest goals of this blog is to provide helpful and useful information for those interested in owning a Vespa or for those who are just generally interested in this lifestyle. I will only include links that I believe are quality and that focus in on areas that I won’t necessarily cover or write about with such depth.

About kaie w. bird

A freelance photographer in Israel that likes to scoot about while documenting just about everything. P.S. I am a horrible editor. Forgive me.

Love to hear some of your thoughts below!

